Congratulations Jennifer Kerr

Director of the Australian War Memorial Dr Brendan Nelson AO, Jennifer Kerr and Principal Fiona Godfrey

Director of the Australian War Memorial Dr Brendan Nelson AO, Jennifer Kerr and Principal Fiona Godfrey

By Mick Bunworth, Communications Manager

Earlier in the year, we reported on Jennifer Kerr’s (Class of 2017) awarding of a prestigious residential Charles Hawker Scholarship, valued at up to $60,000 over three years.

Though Jennifer and her fellow scholars are already benefitting from this generous award, living at Burgmann College and studying at the Australian National University (ANU), things have now been made official. 

Director of the Australian War Memorial Dr Brendan Nelson AO presented the four with their scholarship certificates at a ceremony at the Australian War Memorial on Friday. 

Forty friends and family, college representatives, current scholars and Trustees of the CAS Hawker Scholarship attended the function.

Now studying a combined Bachelor of Politics, Philosophy & Economics/Bachelor of Arts, Jennifer hopes to one day become ‘a leader in developing government policy’. 

She says ‘the scholarship will be of vast benefit in supporting my tertiary studies. It has inspired me to look for ways to participate and contribute to the local community and Australia following in the footsteps of Charles Hawker. The scholarship enables me to live on campus at ANU, allowing me to be more involved with the university and college community. My college also has many third-year and post-graduate students that can provide academic mentoring and support. More broadly the scholarship assists me with networking and working towards further opportunities in the future’.

We congratulate Jennifer once again, and continue to celebrates her success.

About the Scholarship

Since 1990, the Hawker Scholarship Trustees have awarded $6 million dollars to 122 Australian students, including a significant number from regional areas. These four successful candidates were awarded their residential CAS Hawker Scholarships from a strong field of 180 applicants.

The four new scholars are studying Law, Policy Studies, Engineering, Commerce, Politics, Philosophy, Economics and International Studies. The 2018 scholars have studied in Brisbane (Qld), Canberra (ACT), Sale (VIC) and Gawler (SA). 

The late Lilias Needham established the Charles Hawker Scholarship Trust, in memory of her brother. CAS Hawker Scholarships are amongst the most generous privately funded residential scholarships available to Australian undergraduate and postgraduate students.

There are a number of scholarships awarded each year. The Trustees offer them to capable students of principle and character, who have demonstrated a committed to the wider community. Selection is based on personal qualities as well as academic ability.

2019 Charles Hawker Scholarships 

Applications for the 2019 Charles Hawker Scholarships open on 3 December 2018 and close on 4 January 2019.

An application form and further information about CAS Hawker and the scholarship is available from or by contacting the secretary to the Trustees in Adelaide on 08 8127 1654.

About Jennifer Kerr

Read more about Jennifer’s success.

To Home