Radford competes fiercely at Snowsports championships

Radford competitors at Snowsports championships

Radford competitors at Snowsports championships

By Belinda Reitstatter, Radford Snowsports Coordinator

Congratulations on a successful meet for the Radford Snowsports Team at the ACT Southern NSW Snowsports Championships at Perisher last week.

Represented by 42 athletes from the Junior and Secondary Schools, Team Radford headed into the event with enthusiasm. They competed against other ACT students as well as the fierce competitors from southern NSW schools such as Snowy Mountains Grammar, Jindabyne Central, Berridale Primary and Monaro High.

While the primary focus of our Radford Snowsports Team is to develop a team of skiers and snowboarders who can enjoy a whole mountain experience together, racing is an additional feature that invites students to test their skills and speed against others. It is also a wonderful way to build mental and physical resilience in a competitive environment.

Snowboarders and skiers competed in various races at the meet including:

  • Alpine: held on a Giant Slalom (GS) course requiring athletes to race against the clock going from flag to flag making medium radius turns.
  • Boarder/Skier Cross: is a race that includes bumps and burns as well as turns. It can in some ways be likened to a snow-covered BMX track.
  • Moguls: are a more free style type of skiing that require skiers to turn consistently down a bumpy course using their technical skills to absorb each bump and maintain control. This event finishes with a jump.

In each event, skiers and boarders take two runs down a course. The combined two times of each athlete contribute to his or her overall result. Results are collected and prizes are awarded for individuals and for teams in each age category. Age categories are referred to as divisions in Snowsports. Since we have a relatively large number of competitors in each division at Radford, we are often known for our strong team performances at most Snowsports events.

Our results this year were very pleasing with a total of 5 individual athletes making it to the podium based on their own performance. Congratulations to the following Radford representatives all of who have dedicated time training with the Perisher Winter Sports Club this year:

  • Dylan Grubb: 1st Skier Cross Division 1
  • Amelia Hodgson: 2nd Ski Alpine Division 1
  • Max Mandl: 3rd Snowboard Alpine and Boarder Cross Division 1
  • Andrew Kerr: 2nd Ski Alpine and Skier Cross Division 3
  • Will Brake: 3rd Ski Alpine Division 4

Top ten individual results were achieved in various disciplines and races by Charlie Taylor, Nina Weiss, Alice Hartwig, Amelia Hodgson, Claire Purdam, James Tuck, Max Mandl, Angus Peady, Jennifer Kerr, Lara Franks, Sarah Brake, Jack Wheatley, Fletcher Dobson Harper, Brad Tuck, Rosie Joshua, Beth Richter, Zara Dobson Harper, Ewan Richer, Jake Smith Gibson, David Reitstatter and Lisa Hutchinson ? the largest list of top ten results for the College at a regional meet. Congratulations to all of these students who achieved their goals, and to those who came so close.

Invitations to Nationals in Mt Buller in September have been offered to all of the above athletes, plus a number of additional team members including Darcy Evans, Tom Ewer and Brayden Purvis-Smith. We wish the selected athletes all the very best at Nationals.

We still seek more participants this year for the ACT Schools Cup held in Perisher on 6 September. This is a more casual Alpine competition often enjoyed as a ?come and try racing day.? Any intermediate to advanced skiers and/or snowboarders from Years 3?12 who would be interested in finding out more about this event, please email me or speak to our captains Dylan Grubb or Amelia Hodgson. We encourage students who are thinking of joining Radford Snowsports in 2016 to consider coming along on this day. Families are most welcome to join in on this day to see what Radford Snowsports is all about.

Finally, I would like to express my sincere gratitude to all of the Radford Interschools competitors. They represented our College exceptionally well on the race course, at prize-giving ceremonies and back at the lodge. Our captains Dylan Grubb and Amelia Hodgson, and parent helpers, Jonathan Mandl, Ed Hutchinson and Andrew Herring, are all acknowledged and thanked for their contribution to this event.

To Home